Fear Free: Evolving to the Hospitalized, Emergent, and Sick Patient

By Tamara Grubb, DVM, PhD, DACVAA

Understanding the relationship of pain with fear, anxiety, and stress (FAS) – a relationship that works both ways – is crucial for veterinary professionals who seek to treat their patients’ physical and emotional health. How can the veterinary professional best comprehend, diagnose, and treat both pain and FAS?

Join us for Fear Free: Evolving to the Hospitalized, Emergent and Sick Patient, a free webinar with board certified veterinary anesthesiologist Dr. Tamara Grubb, sponsored by Zoetis. The presentation will be held online on Tuesday, September 18, 2018, at 5 PM Pacific/6 PM Mountain/7 PM Central/8 PM Eastern U.S. Time.

Dr. Grubb will discuss the interconnectedness of pain with fear, anxiety, and stress, and examine therapeutic and diagnostic strategies for both. Topics covered will include:

  • The relationship between FAS and pain
  • Diagnosing and treating both pain and FAS
  • Reducing FAS in the hospitalized patient
  • FAS and pain in the emergency setting
  • And more

 

About the Presenter

Tamara Grubb, DVM, PhD, DACVAA

A member of the Fear Free Executive Council, Dr. Tamara Grubb is a board certified veterinary anesthesiologist with a strong clinical interest and research focus in pain management. She is an Associate Clinical Professor of Anesthesia & Analgesia in the College of Veterinary Medicine at Washington State University, a certified acupuncturist, and a member of the Board of Directors of the International Veterinary Academy of Pain Management (IVAPM).

Dr. Grubb believes that a good anesthetic/analgesic protocol should always include Fear Free techniques since calm, comfortable pets need lower dosages of anesthetic drugs, which makes a dose-dependent adverse effect from the anesthetic drugs less likely to occur. She has delivered numerous presentations and authored or co-authored a myriad of papers and books, with Anesthesia and Analgesia for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses (Teton New Media) soon to arrive. She has received the Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teaching Award, which has been awarded to her from students at two universities.

This article is brought to you in collaboration with our friends at Zoetis.

Related